18th Annual Conference of the Texas Aggie Bar Association

March 3-4, 2017

College Station, Texas

Conference Schedule of Events

(order of speakers may change)

Friday, March 3, 2017
7:00 p.m. Dinner/Social 

  Chicken Oil Company (casual attire)
3600 S. College Avenue, Bryan
Saturday, March 4, 2017

Texas CLE credit: 6.0 hrs Participatory Hours, including 1.75 hrs Ethics (anticipated hours)

8:00 a.m. Registration/Breakfast/Business Meeting / Introductions
  Ballroom D, Memorial Student Center, Texas A&M University (casual attire)
8:30 a.m.
Law of Armed Conflict, National Security Law, Criminal Law and Procedure, and Prosecutorial Ethics    [1.0 part hours / .25 ethics]

Colby Volkey '87, Military Trial Lawyer
9:30 a.m. Concealed Carry on College Campuses    [.5 part hours]
 Jerry Brown '85, Texas A&M University System
 10:00 a.m. Texas Issues in Oil & Gas    [.75 part hours]
  Ryan Sitton '98, Texas Railroad Commissioner
10:45 a.m. Break
 11:00 a.m. First Breakout Sessions
  Breakout A:  Immigration and the Constitution    [.5 part hours]
  Robert Shivers, Shivers & Shivers
  Breakout B:  Plowing New Ground:  A Discussion of Emerging Legal Issues in Agricultural Law and Policy    [.5 part hours]
  Jim Bradbury '88, James D. Bradbury, PLLC
 11:30 a.m. Second Breakout Sessions
  Breakout A:  Texas Ad Valorem Property Tax    [.5 part hours]
  Brandy Manning '94, Long-Weaver, Manning, Antus & Antus, LLP
  Breakout B:  Trademark Law 101    [.5 part hours]
  John Cain '82, Fleckman & McGlynn, PLLC
12:00 p.m. Lunch Line
 12:15 p.m.General Counsel Panel    [.75 part hours / .25 ethics]
 Moderator:  Brandon Crisp, 
  Panel: Becky Niederstadt Palm '02, Essilor of America

Sarah Hlavinka McConnel '86, Xerox

Jim Wright '91, Energy Transfer Partners

Alexandra Sinatra '11, USA Today Sports Media Group

1:00 p.m. Judges Panel    [1.0 part hours / .25 ethics]

Moderator:      Ken Krock

Panel:             Chief Justice Tom Gray '79, Tenth Court of Appeals

                     Justice Nora Longoria '86, Thirteenth Court of Appeals

                     Justice Ken Wise '91, Fourteenth Court of Appeals

2:00 p.m.Ethics Hour    [1.0 part hours / 1.0 ethics]

Professor Susan Fortney, Texas A&M University School of Law
 3:00 p.m.  Adjourn
 3:30 p.m.  (Optional) Kyle Field Tour
  (fee applies)
6:00 p.m. -
9:00 p.m.
6 p.m. Reception (cash bar) and 7 p.m. Banquet honoring the 2017 TABA Distinguished Lawyer and the 2017 TABA Scholarship Recipients - Business Attire
  Ballroom D, Memorial Student Center, Texas A&M University


Expanding the Aggie Network in the legal community and providing scholarship
opportunities for future Aggie attorneys

Copyright 2011 Texas Aggie Bar Association.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software